White House confirms five more states added to COVID-19 "red zone"


(WASHINGTON D.C.) — Colorado, Michigan, Ohio, Texas and West Virginia are now in the “red zone” in the White House’s latest COVID-19 report, meaning that the states all have reported than 100 new cases per 100,000 people over the past seven days.

In all, 31 states are in the nation’s “red zone,” up from 26 from last week and 24 the week prior.

The top five states with the highest number of new cases per population are as follows: North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana, Wisconsin and Nevada.

Fourteen states — including Washington D.C. — are among the “orange zone,” which is classified as states reporting 51 to 100 new cases per 100,000 residents.

Five states have been classified in the “yellow zone,” those of which who have reported 10 and 100 new cases per 100,000 people, which is the lowest tier.  Those states are New York, New Hampshire, Hawaii, Maine and Vermont.

No states remain in the green zone.

On average, the U.S. has reported 117 new cases per 100,000 residents, meaning the entire nation as a whole is considered a red zone on a global scale.  In all, the nation reported nearly 386,000 new cases in the past week.  There were two days where the nation confirmed over 60,000 new cases — the highest numbers since the nation peaked in July.

Hospitalizations are also on the rise across 41 states.

COVID-19 has infected over 8.2 million Americans and killed more than 220,000. 

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.